Gargantua and Pantagruel

Gargantua and Pantagruel

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
The dazzling and exuberant moral stories of Rabelais (c. 1471-1553) expose human follies with their mischievous and often obscene humour, while intertwining the realistic with carnivalesque fantasy to make us look afresh at the world. Gargantua depicts a young giant, reduced to laughable insanity by an education at the hands of paternal ignorance, old crones and syphilitic professors, who is rescued and turned into a cultured Christian knight. And in Pantagruel and its three sequels, Rabelais parodied tall tales of chivalry and satirized the law, theology and academia to portray the bookish son of Gargantua who becomes a Renaissance Socrates, divinely guided in his wisdom, and his idiotic, self-loving companion Panurge.
Publisher: London : Penguin Books, 2006.
ISBN: 9780140445503
Branch Call Number: RAB
Characteristics: xlvi, 1041 pages ;,20 cm.
Additional Contributors: Screech, M. A. (Michael Andrew)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
stlouisck
Sep 13, 2016

Read this in my university literature course - really great dialogic, carnivalesque text. Bakhtin writes about it.

l
lukasevansherman
Mar 23, 2014

It's rare to find a book that is both gleefully scatological and also highly intellectual. Written by a 16th century French monk, "Gargantua and Pantagruel" is a picaresque, satiric book that embraces and mocks everything from religion to humanism to epics. It's a huge, sprawling, baggy book that may lose some readers with its copious allusions (a better annotated edition would be nice), but will win them over with its exuberance, ambitious and surprisingly bawdy humor. For fans of Erasmus, Cervantes, Chaucer and Thomas More. This is where we get our word gargantuan from.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top