Elimination Night

Elimination Night

A Novel

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

For readers of The Devil Wears Prada and fans of TV shows like American Idol and America's Got Talent comes Elimination Night, an uproariously funny look at the backstabbing, ego clashes, and 24--7 snafus that transpire behind the scenes of one of the country's smash talent programs. 
 
Sasha King dreams of being a serious novelist and living the good life with her AWOL hunk of a boyfriend, Brock. But her day job as an assistant producer of Project Icon, the once-mighty ratings juggernaut that's recently taken a hit in the Nielsen's ratings, keeps her working nonstop. She's got her hands full with the show's two new celebrity judges, entrepreneur-actress-singer Bibi Vasquez ("Crew to be forbidden to make eye contact with Artist AT ALL TIMES," reads her contract) and rock legend Joey Lovecraft, a priapic wild man who doesn't even own a TV (it goes against the teachings of his guru, Tibetan high lama Yutog Gonpo).
 
As the competition among the hopeful, young would-be stars--including the foul-mouthed Mia Pelosi and the chaps-wearing Jimmy Nuggett--heats up, Sasha finds herself constantly putting out fires. A date with a mysterious stranger makes her rethink her devotion to Brock. And then an unexpected revelation rocks her world.
 
A frighteningly smooth host (Wayne Shoreline), muckraking gossip columnists, and powerful people named Nigel round out the pure madcap reading pleasure of Elimination Night, a book so hilariously accurate about the inner workings of the talent show machine that it had to be written anonymously.

Publisher: Boston : New Harvest/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, [2013]
Copyright Date: ©2013
ISBN: 9780547942070
Branch Call Number: ELI
Characteristics: xi, 281 pages ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
Liselara
Sep 19, 2013

When I saw Elimination Night on the front stands at the Library, I read the flap which told me it was written by someone with inside knowledge of a Talent Show and within a few pages you know which one. This book is often hilarious and fun which keeps the pages turning but it is also mean, sick and revolting, especially one episode regarding the host of the show eating breakfast on an undisclosed Mexican island. The author writes in "street language" and by I mean s/he doesn't always use full sentences or correct spelling; it's more "National Enquirer" than "The Devil Wears Prada". But did I read it all? You bet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top