City of the Dead

City of the Dead

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Fans of Ian Rankin and Lee Child will relish the latest thriller from the author of Thou Shalt Kill --the second novel in a heart-pounding series featuring hardened homicide detective Franco Patrese.

Daniel Blake more than delivers on the promise of his acclaimed thriller Thou Shalt Kill, bringing back detective Franco Patrese in City of the Dead, "a blood-soaked, full-throttle descent into hell and one of the best thrillers you will read this or any other year" (Lorenzo Carcaterra).

"You're not tainted. You're not one of them. I need you alone. . . ."

The woman who contacted Franco Patrese was the ultimate New Orleans society belle: beautiful, seductive, cunning, and, in this case, desperate. The personal assistant to the city's most powerful man, she had to meet Patrese in secret. Fearful whispers of "sacrifices" were all Patrese could glean; she didn't live long enough to tell him any more.

Patrese had come to New Orleans, buffeted by the winds of fate, bearing a pain that cops know too well. His native Pittsburgh was still in his bones, while a disaster on a tropical island had shaken his soul. In the thick, hot, exotic world of the Crescent City he began to come alive again. But now he cannot afford to be the new guy, the guy on the outside looking in. A second body has been found, just like the first: Dismembered. A snake, an axe head, a mirror. And blood. A whole lot of blood.

Patrese's partner is a devout New Orleans native with a past she keeps private. By Selma Fawcett's side, Patrese races in the footsteps of a serial killer who seems steeped in voodoo and linked to a priestess who practices her dark arts in the clear light of day--and the glare of the media. The more he learns about the victims and their connections, the more bizarre the case becomes. Then a veteran-turned-drug dealer takes him one step further, deep into a realm in which murder is only one kind of perversion.

Patrese and Selma, traveling from the French Quarter to Natchez and the bayou, don't realize they are out of time. A tide of corruption and secrecy is rising all around them. They are the tainted ones: two good cops, targeted by a force more malevolent than any one before.
Publisher: New York : Pocket Books, 2013.
Copyright Date: ©2011
ISBN: 9781439197622
9781439197639
Branch Call Number: General fiction B PBK
BLA
Characteristics: 500 pages ;,18 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
SeanVictorydawn
Feb 24, 2014

this may have been a very interesting reading; unique settings, skeletons in the closet for police detectives, some engaging actions and unexpected results, things going out of control while trying to revealing facts. But it's very boring with too much technical details, and why should I care? it's just a fictional dream product, what is the sense of putting that much technical detail in this fiction?
I would prefer reading newspaper columns instead of this nonsense. It's nothing different than a news article. But at least news are real.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top