I Will Have Vengeance

I Will Have Vengeance

The Winter of Commissario Ricciardi

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
Commissario Ricciardi has visions. He sees the final seconds in the lives of victims of violent deaths. It is both a gift and a curse. It has helped him become one of the most successful homicide detectives on the Naples police front. But the horror of his visions has hollowed him out emotionally. He drinks too much and sleeps too little. Other than his loyal partner, Brigadier Maione, he has no friends.

Naples, March 1931: a bitter wind stalks the city streets, and murder lies at its chill heart. When the world's greatest tenor, Maestro Arnaldo Vezzi, is found brutally murdered in his dressing room at Naples' San Carlo Theatre, the enigmatic and aloof Commissario Ricciardi is called in to investigate.

Arrogant and bad-tempered, Vezzi was adored by millions and hated by hundreds, but with the livelihoods of everyone at the San Carlo opera at stake, who there would have committed such an act? Ricciardi is determined to find out.

Fans of Donna Leon and Manuel V#65533;zquez Montalb#65533;n will thrill to this fresh voice in crime fiction. I Will Have Vengeance is the first book in a quartet of masterful crime novels set in fascist Italy.
Publisher: New York : Europa Editions, [2012]
Copyright Date: ©2012
ISBN: 9781609450946
1609450949
Branch Call Number: DEG
Characteristics: 216 pages --.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

i
ifhy010
Sep 12, 2016

Really enjoyed the story, although I prefer De Giovanni's Crocodile book and detective to this one. Nevertheless expertly written and entertaining.

AuntJane Apr 04, 2016

The Commissario has an unusual ability to see the final moments of peoples lives, which, while an emotional burden, helps him solve crimes. There are some awkward sentences I'll attribute to the translation, but otherwise a good, suspenseful read. I enjoyed reading and learning about the opera. This is mystery Noir, this is not a Donna Leon type book...

p
PushpakKarnick
Feb 21, 2016

Please find my review at http://echoes-empty-mind.blogspot.com/2016/02/book-review-i-will-have-vengeance-by.html.

l
lovemybranch
Aug 09, 2015

Stopped reading after first few pages: it seemed both boring and bombastic.

I don't think it comes anywhere near Donna Leon's writing, from prose style to characters.

m
michaeladulettres
May 21, 2014

Donna Leon fans will probably enjoy Commissario Ricciardi even though he doesn't eat nearly as well as Brunetti!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top