Thrifty Green

Thrifty Green

Ease up on Energy, Food, Water, Trash, Transit, Stuff--and Everybody Wins

eBook - 2011
Rate this:
Priscilla Short lived off the grid for a year in a strawbale house in Taos, NM, with no electricity, no running water, and a wood burning stove for heat. At the end of the year, Short returned home to Denver committed to making a smaller ecological footprint by consuming less and conserving more. In "Thrifty Green," Short offers a unique, resource-by-resource approach that shows us that the best way to practice conservation, the real win-win, involves saving money as we lighten up. In the tradition of Ed Begley, Jr.OCOs "Living with Ed," this book will help you make crucial decisions about transportation, heat, power, light, water, food, and garbage. Peppered with examples of people living both on and off the grid, eccentric and ordinary, who are deliberately making choices to live with less, "Thrifty Green" is much more than a how-to book. It is a conscientious guide to the art of going green that includes a wealth of terrific tips, fun facts, and straightforward strategies that will make you think about conservation in a whole new way.
Publisher: San Francisco, CA : Conari Press, 2011.
ISBN: 9781609253639
1609253639
Branch Call Number: Internet Access
Characteristics: 1 online resource (244 pages)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top