The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in An IKEA Wardrobe

The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in An IKEA Wardrobe

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
For readers of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared , a funny, charming, feel-good story about a fake fakir from India who arrives in France to shop at IKEA and unwittingly embarks on a European tour like no other.
Meet Ajatashatru Oghash Rathod. One day a fakir leaves his small village in India and lands in Paris. A professional con artist, the fakir is on a pilgrimage to IKEA, where he intends to obtain an object he covets above all others: a brand-new bed of nails. Without adequate euros in the pockets of his silk trousers, the fakir is all the same confident that his counterfeit 100-Euro note (printed on one side only) and his usual bag of tricks will suffice. But when a swindled cab driver seeks his murderous revenge, the fakir accidentally embarks on a European tour, fatefully beginning in the wardrobe of the iconic Swedish retailer.
As his journey progresses in the most unpredictable of ways, the fakir finds unlikely friends in even unlikelier places. To his surprise--and to a Bollywood beat--the stirrings of love well up in the heart of our turbaned hero, even as his adventures lead to profound and moving questions of the perils of emigration and the universal desire to seek a better life in an often dangerous world.
The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe [pause for breath] is a hilarious tale that evokes the manic energy of a Marx Brothers romp and calls to mind the incisive social commentary of Candide . Pull up your Poang chair and take an unforgettable tour of Europe propelled by laughter, love and redemption. (Meatballs not included, but highly recommended.)
Publisher: Toronto : Random House Canada, 2014.
ISBN: 9780345814173
0345814177
Branch Call Number: PUE
Characteristics: 310 pages
Additional Contributors: Taylor, Sam 1970-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mgackle
Jul 23, 2016

The plot requires you to suspend your disbelief quite a bit, but author Romain Puertolas has a satirical wit that will engage you (along with a penchant for unique character names and a customer's understanding of the Ikean labyrinth). It is a quick read that will occasionally make you laugh out loud; perfect for a summer afternoon's enjoyment.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top