Three Moments of An Explosion

Three Moments of An Explosion

Stories

Book - 2015 | First edition.
Average Rating:
4
1
Rate this:
Twenty-eight short stories from author China Miéville.
Publisher: New York : Del Rey, [2015]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9781101884720
110188472X
Branch Call Number: MIE
Characteristics: 382 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Feb 16, 2016

Best known for his genre-bending Bas-Lag novels, author China Miéville presents a collection of 28 stories, each bringing to life a strange world wherein even stranger things happen. From fantastical retellings of classic fairy tales to surreal explorations of the hidden terrors of everyday occurrences, this thought-provoking and stylistically complex book may appeal to fans of Kelly Link or Catherynne M. Valente.

PimaLib_SherrieB Jan 15, 2016

The stories in this collection are fantastical, metaphorical, untidy, and sometimes open-ended. They stretched my imagination. I love this book.

j
JLMason
Dec 21, 2015

The author is an excellent writer with a wide-ranging imagination. He employs many different writing styles from screenplay to gothic horror to classic SciFi. The quality of the stories was uneven, with the endings of some leaving a question of "so what?" I would still recommend the book as more than half of the stories are compelling and unsettling; a few even stay with you for a few days as you mull them over. I will definitely seek out other books by this author.

j
jenniferrabbit
Sep 02, 2015

Strange and wonderful short stories that are beautifully written but make very little sense. When I read Mieville's novels it always takes me several chapters to really see the world he's invented, and the motives of his characters... in these short stories I don't have that opportunity. If you love to read and wonder, this is the book for you. If you like things to sort themselves out tidily by the end of the book, like I do, hmmm, maybe not so much.

Notices

Add Notices

m
maroon_chicken
Aug 11, 2016

Other: Some stories are quite dark

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top