The Devil's Advocate

The Devil's Advocate

The Epic Novel of One Man's Fight to Save America From Tyranny

eBook - 2017
Rate this:
A revolution is waged against a totalitarian government in this novel of a dystopian near-future America from a #1 New York Times --bestselling author. In the heart of Philadelphia, insurgent Andrew Durant has been nursing a festering rage. And he's not alone. Through underground networks, he's found himself among a secret thousands, building an army called the Minute Men. They're readying themselves for war to reclaim what was once America. In the nation now known as the Democracy, independent thought is a thing of the past. The Constitution is waste paper. A conscienceless president has been appointed by the military--for life. The government has co-opted farmland crops. Citizens are divided between two classes: wealthy corporations and the destitute. Areas of the country devastated by war or natural disaster remain unchecked. On behalf of national security, neighbors are instructed to spy on one another. Exposing those who are undemocratic is law. And all dissenters are eliminated. Durant, the chosen agent for the poverty-stricken rural Democracy, finds himself increasingly isolated and afraid. Mobilizing revolutionaries has become a dangerous tactic; the Minute Men have their own traitors, infiltrators assigned to undo everything Durant and his men are fighting to conquer. Now, the rebels have only their beliefs left to trust. A stunning dystopian vision in the tradition of George Orwell's 1984 and Ayn Rand's Anthem, The Devil's Advocate is author Taylor Caldwell's "tour de force" (Kirkus Reviews). More than a half-century after its original publication, this "courageous book" is timelier than ever (Chicago Sunday Tribune). This ebook features an illustrated biography of Taylor Caldwell including rare images from the author's estate.
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Open Road Media, [2017]
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781504042925
Branch Call Number: Internet Access
Characteristics: 1 online resource (352 pages).

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top