Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra, Messiaen and Bruckner

Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra, Messiaen and Bruckner

Symphonie no. 8 (édition Robert Haas) Symphony no. 8 (Robert Haas edition)

Streaming Video - 2016
Rate this:
Sir Simon Rattle conducts Messiaen and Bruckner, two composers as united in their devotion to the Catholic faith as they are divergent in their approaches to writing music. First Messiaen, the voracious musical omnivore whose Couleurs de la cité céleste is a microcosm of his numerous preoccupations - from birdsong to the book of Revelations - set in a sequence of lively episodes performed by a reduced orchestra centred on the piano. This short piece sets the stage for Bruckner's monumental Eighth Symphony, a complete contrast with its grand scale and dramatic writing. It is performed here in the 1939 edition prepared by Austrian musicologist Robert Haas.
Publisher: London, England : London Symphony Orchestra, 2016.
Branch Call Number: Internet Access
Characteristics: 1 streaming online resource (85 minutes).
data file, rda


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at EPL

To Top