Sightwitch

Sightwitch

The True Tale of the Twelve Paladins

Book - 2018 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
Set a year before Truthwitch, Sightwitch follows Ryber Fortiza, the last Sightwitch Sister as she treks deep underground to rescue her missing best friend. While there, she encounters a young Nubrevnan named Kullen Ikray, who has no memory of who he is or how he wound up inside the mountain. From the New York Times bestselling author of Windwitch Susan Dennard, an illustrated prequel novella set in the Witchlands setting up the forthcoming hotly anticipated Bloodwitch.
Publisher: New York : Tom Doherty Associates, 2018.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781250183521
1250183529
Branch Call Number: TEEN DEN
Characteristics: 236 pages :,illustrations, map ;,25 cm.
Additional Contributors: Davies, Rhys (Illustrator)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
RebelBelle13
Jan 18, 2019

I'd like to give full disclosure here- this is my first Susan Dennard novel, and I have not read Truthwitch or Windwitch. I was told that I could read Sightwitch as a prequel to the series, and it would make sense enough on its own, the story was contained, and it would be a good introduction to the series. I'd have to agree with those sentiments. There are a few things that didn't connect for me, but on the whole, the story worked. I was given plenty of backstory and character development for Ryber and Euridyce, thorough description of the world's rules and magic system, and enough history and backstory to bring everything together. Ryber is a flawed main character, but she is easy to connect to. She doesn't have "the sight" but she goes on her epic quest to save her sisters all the same. Dennard does an amazing job of describing inside the mountain, and I had no problems visualizing all of the levels of horror Ryber needed to traverse to attain her goal. I truly enjoyed the writing style- there isn't loads of unnecessary exposition or description, and the novel is brief. Despite this, it was well paced. My favorite character was most certainly The Rook, despite the fact that he said no words at all.
To get the full effect of this book, I will have to read the other two, and I have a feeling that any and all questions will be answered then. Even so, I really still enjoyed this as a stand-alone and entry book into the world of The Witchlands.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jan 17, 2019

This short story / novella serves as a companion to the Witch-lands series. We get to adventure along with Ryber, a Sightwitch, who must embark to save her thread-sister Tanzi among others. Along the way, she must endure trials and tribulations, to reach her final destination and uncover the secrets of the sisters from a thousand years before her. This story is filled with short letters, clips, and beautiful sketches that I enjoyed immensely. I recommend reading it shortly after Windwitch. @Siri of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

g
goddessbeth
Jan 13, 2019

I admit, I wasn't that connected to Ryber's story (or Kullen's) initially- I was too distracted by Safiya and Iseult and everything else. But I am SO glad I picked this one up. First off, the audiobook is terrific- again, with great accents and believable tone. Given how tense this story is, that's super important. Secondly, the character of Ryber isn't the important bit, the history is. I mean, I like Ryber (and Kullen) more, having read this...but the thing I really loved was that the mysteries that Truthwitch and Windwitch brought us have basically doubled in depth. And most of that happened at the end of the tale. So, didn't love the fact that it was a high-tension maze runner/dungeon delve and the juciest bits for the world building were at the end, but I'm a fan of The Witchlands series and this story definitely adds to it.

DCLteens Apr 05, 2018

Nice filler book until the third book comes out next January. The reader is given more on the backgrounds of Ryber and Kullen which was interesting. Ihope the third book will have more about them!

a
akzfineart
Feb 22, 2018

SIGHTWITCH by Susan Dennard is a book like no other. The third book in Dennard’s fantasy series, this illustrated novella is set one year before TRUTHWITCH and is made up of journal entries, sketches, maps, letters, notes, and records as well as songs, prayers & rules pertaining to the Sightwitches. There is so much to this novella, but it is never overwhelming. Dennard’s writing skills have reached new heights. SIGHTWITCH is one of the most creative forms of the novel.

This book has two main POV’s: Ryber Fortiza, a character we met in TRUTHWITCH and WINDWITCH, and Eridysi, a Sighwitch Sister who lived a 1000 years ago. Separated by time and connected by the thread of fate. The character development Ryber experiences is incredible! At the beginning, Ryber wants so bad to be summoned and given the Sight. That desire was so strong and I wanted that for Ryber, so badly. This desire to be summoned by Sirmaya is one of the strongest I have ever felt from a character, in all the books I’ve read. Then Ryber goes on this journey and she grows so much – I loved being able to witness it all. She also meets Kullen Ikray, an Airwitch we first read about in TRUTHWITCH. I loved having him in the book because we saw a deeper, more honest side of him. He is truly a precious cinnamon roll. I don’t think I could ever read a Dennard book and be disappointed – the character development was phenomenal. The development of Eridysi, a character who lived a thousand years ago, was also great because we learn about an actual person, and not a legend or someone’s over exaggeration of Eridysi’s life. I connected so much with this character that I wouldn’t mind an entire book (or series) from her POV.

World-building is always my favourite and I especially loved the way I got to experience it here. The journal entries and sketches made up most of the book and were amazing to read. However, it was the notes and the songs and the Sighwitch rules written to the side that completed my experience. Being able to learn about the Witchlands and Dennard’s characters in this way was undoubtedly one-of-a-kind. Here’s a quote from the finished copy that I love re: the world-building:

38. THE RULE OF DISPUTED TRUTH

Oftentimes, Memory Records offer different accounts for the same event. As such, all Memory Records are true and all Memory Records are false, for what is life except perception?
Page 118.

SIGHTWITCH has changed my perception of the Witchlands – both past and future. Which brings me to my final point: we are introduced to a darker, more ominous side of the Witchlands, a side we saw hints of in the first two books. The suspense I felt in this book, the way my heart raced, other books cannot even compare. There are Death Maidens and shadow wyrms and much, much more. Fans of TRUTHWITCH and WINDWITCH will not want to miss this highly anticipated, new release from Susan Dennard. Sighwitch: The True Tale of the Twelve Paladins. The illustrations in this book were created by Rhys Davies.

My recommended reading order: Truthwitch, Windwitch and then Sightwitch. Although Sightwitch is set a year before Truthwitch, I feel your reading experience will be much more positive if you’re already familiar with the world of the Witchlands. Also, things happen in Sightwitch that would be kind of spoilery to people who haven’t read Truthwitch or Windwitch.

I received an eARC from the publisher. This has in no way altered my honest opinion of the book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top