The Acts of My Mother

The Acts of My Mother

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
An intensely personal exposé of what happens when family and politics collide during the collapse of the Hungarian Communist regime--for fans of The Lives of Others and The Reader .

Thirty years after the fall of communism in Hungary, as András Forgách investigated his family's past, he uncovered a horrifying truth. His mother, whom he deeply loved, had been an informant for the Kádár regime. She had informed not only on acquaintances but on family, friends and even her children.
In a work of heartbreaking intensity and nuance, Forgách must confront the truth about the woman who was simultaneously an informant as well as a tender and loveable parent, a victim and a perpetrator.
In The Acts of My Mother , Forgách gives voice to his deceased mother, holding her responsible for her deeds while defending the memories he cherished of her as a son.
Publisher: [Toronto] : Hamish Hamilton, 2018.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780735233812
0735233810
Branch Call Number: FOR
Characteristics: 387 pages ;,21 cm
Additional Contributors: Olchváry, Paul

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top