The Fifth Season

The Fifth Season

The Broken Earth Series, Book 1

Downloadable Audiobook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
At the end of the world, a woman must hide her secret power and find her kidnapped daughter in this "intricate and extraordinary" Hugo Award winning novel of power, oppression, and revolution. (The New York Times)

This is the way the world ends...for the last time.

It starts with the great red rift across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun. It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter. It starts with betrayal, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.
This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

Read the first book in the critically acclaimed, three-time Hugo award-winning trilogy by NYT bestselling author N. K. Jemisin.
For more from N. K. Jemisin, check out:
The Inheritance Trilogy
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
The Broken Kingdoms
The Kingdom of Gods
The Inheritance Trilogy (omnibus edition)
Shades in Shadow: An Inheritance Triptych (e-only short fiction)
The Awakened Kingdom (e-only novella)
Dreamblood Duology
The Killing Moon
The Shadowed Sun

The Broken Earth

The Fifth Season

The Obelisk Gate

Publisher: Hachette Audio


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
ReadingAdviser_Sally Dec 31, 2019

Wow! What a great first book in a series. I enjoyed the narration and I will definitely check out the next novel in the series.

Nov 11, 2018

Very creative and well-written piece. I liked the characters and the pacing as the story unfolds.
Clever stuff and the narration is excellent.



Add a Quote
ReadingAdviser_Sally Dec 31, 2019

“Home is what you take with you, not what you leave behind.”

ReadingAdviser_Sally Dec 31, 2019

“For all those that have to fight for the respect that everyone else is given without question.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at EPL

To Top