Amatka

Amatka

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
2
A LOCUS AWARD FINALIST
ONE OF THE GUARDIAN'S BEST SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY BOOKS OF 2017
A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin.

Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion.
Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.
In Karin Tidbeck's world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing—not even language, nor the very fabric of reality—can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
saraheymann
Oct 21, 2020

Page turning cold and intriguing sci-fi thriller. Go on a trip w/ Vanja to discover whats behind this oppressive world with its history intentionally erased. Highly recommended !

Hillsboro_BrianS Oct 30, 2018

The astounding power and mystery contained within that thing named "language" is at the center of Karin Tidbeck's debut novel, Amatka.

Vanja has been sent to the frigid outpost of Amatka, a repressive, Soviet-like colony on a nameless planet, where she is expected to conduct market research into the colony’s personal hygiene products. At first, Vanja tries to stay on task, but the barely contained strangeness lurking just beyond Amatka's repressive bureaucracy becomes too compelling for her to ignore: why do everyday objects melt into goo if they aren’t constantly being “marked” and named? Why does the lake freeze and thaw every night? And, what is that skin cream *really* made out of?

Highly enjoyable, and recommended for fans of philosophical, thought-provoking, and weird science fiction.

SFPL_danielay Aug 23, 2018

People live in a strange world where objects can dissolve if they are not labeled and constantly named. They don't know how they got here and an authoritarian government keeps dissent at bay in the name of the good of the commune. When government worker Vanja moves to a different settlement, she starts to question the rules - a move that can potentially destroy their world. A fascinating look not only at society but also at how we use language to define the world around us.

d
Debneo
Dec 31, 2017

Odd little universe. Too short, I'd like more of this world. Sad/Happy ending.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
Hillsboro_BrianS Oct 24, 2018

Hillsboro_BrianS thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

d
Debneo
Dec 31, 2017

Debneo thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top