Take Good Care of the Garden and the Dogs

Take Good Care of the Garden and the Dogs

Family, Friendships & Faith in Small-town Alaska

Book - 2010 | First edition.
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
The Alaskan landscape--so vast, dramatic, and unbelievable--may be the reason the people in Haines, Alaska (population 2,400), so often discuss the meaning of life. Heather Lende thinks it helps make life mean more. Since her bestselling first book, If You Lived Here, I'd Know Your Name , a near-fatal bicycle accident has given Lende a few more reasons to consider matters both spiritual and temporal. Her idea of spirituality is rooted in community, and here she explores faith and forgiveness, loss and devotion--as well as raising totem poles, canning salmon, and other distinctly Alaskan adventures. Lende's irrepressible spirit, her wry humor, and her commitment to living a life on the edge of the world resonate on every page. Like her own mother's last wish-- take good care of the garden and dogs --Lende's writing, so honest and unadorned, deepens our understanding of what links all humanity.
Publisher: Chapel Hill, N.C. : Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2010.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781565125681
Branch Call Number: 979.82051 LEN
Characteristics: x, 287 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLHelenH Apr 11, 2017

In the vein of Anne Lamott, Lende shares the blessings and challenges of living in small-town Alaska.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top