Seeking the Sacred

Seeking the Sacred

Transforming Our View of Ourselves and One Another

Book - 2011 | First American edition.
Rate this:
For readers of Thomas Moore, James Hillman, and Pema Chodron-a timely handbook for these troubled times that shows how to bring depth and meaning to our lives through cultivating our connection with something greater than ourselves.

Can changing our view of ourselves and others affect the world? Bestselling author Stephanie Dowrick's major new book is a compelling look at how we can transform the world by seeing the extraordinary everywhere we look, both without and within. Through her intimate, beautiful, and encouraging writing, Dowrick shows that it is only in altering our perception-seeing all of life as sacred-that we will challenge the usual stories about who we are and what we are capable of being.

At a time when religion is increasing seen as a cause of prejudice and division, or as irrelevant to our most pressing concerns, the eternal truths of a genuinely inclusive spiritual wisdom have never been more urgently needed or sought. In Seeking the Sacred , Stephanie Dowrick invites us to go beyond cultural divisions and religious dogma and to discover what makes our lives sacred, satisfying, and meaningful.

Weaving personal stories-including her own-with an inspired vision of life's most healing possibilities, she reveals how the sacred can transform the way we understand and value life, changing forever how we interact with others and care for ourselves.

Seeking the Sacred is a provocative and accessible read for those contemplating God, faith, spirituality, and the nature of belief in twenty-first-century life. This is a book for the spiritually curios as well as those already engaged in the deeper questions. Richly hopeful and uplifting, Seeking the Sacred unravels some of our most complex contemporary dilemmas and speaks to the heart of our deepest yearnings.
Publisher: New York : Jeremy P. Tarcher/Penguin, 2011.
Edition: First American edition.
Copyright Date: ©2010
ISBN: 9781585428663
Branch Call Number: 204.4 DOW
Characteristics: 366 pages ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top