Ed King

Ed King

A Novel

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
A sweeping, propulsive, darkly humorous new novel by the best-selling author of Snow Falling on Cedars: a story of destiny, desire, and destruction that reimagines Sophocles's Oedipus Rex for our own era.
 
In Seattle in 1962, Walter Cousins, a mild-mannered actuary--"a guy who weighs risk for a living"--takes a risk of his own, and makes the biggest error of his life. He sleeps with Diane Burroughs, the sexy, not-quite-legal British au pair who's taking care of his children for the summer. Diane gets pregnant and leaves their baby on a doorstep, but not before turning the tables on Walter and setting in motion a tragedy of epic proportions. Their orphaned child, adopted by an adoring family and named Edward Aaron King, grows up to become a billionaire Internet tycoon and an international celebrity--the "King of Search"--who unknowingly, but inexorably, hurtles through life toward a fate he may have no power to shape.
 
An instant classic--David Guterson's most daring and dazzling novel yet--that brings a contemporary urgency to one of the greatest stories of all time.
Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2011.
ISBN: 9780307271068
Branch Call Number: GUT
Characteristics: 301 pages ;,25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
sheojuk
Jan 28, 2013

Ed King = Oedipus Rex.

There, I've saved you from 303 pages of terrible writing. This must have been a book due under contract, because there is no other excuse for such a thin and unoriginal premise being spun out with unbelievable characters, wildly improbably plot, and using 1,000 words when one would do.

Guterson is capable of much better. I am offended at the waste of my time to get through this drivel.

gildagood Aug 23, 2012

This book needs a good edit. I found the ending contrived. Throughout,there's too much extraneous detail.

Plot is not believable.

m
megaculpa
Jun 07, 2012

Guterson's latest novel is a modern re-telling of classical mythology. In lesser hands, this might have spelled literary disaster, but he brings it off brilliantly. Some of the characters are a little remote, but the sense of time and place is fully realized and the narrative is well-paced. Readers who enjoy authors like Franzen, Eugenides and Murakami will love this book.

f
fjvalentin
Mar 14, 2012

Very disappointed in the book. LIke dcafk, I can't believe this is the same author that wrote "Snow Falling on Cedars".

d
dcafk
Nov 15, 2011

I found this book to be a predictable bore. The so called humor, dark or otherwise, escaped me completely. I can hardly believe that the person who wrote this is the same person who wrote "Snow Falling on Cedars."
My advice to the would be reader is "Don't bother." My advice to Mr. Guterson is "Get out of the house more."

m
markd
Nov 11, 2011

An Okay read. After the first twist, it became a bit predictable. Quite a bit of irony, somewhat dark. Mature themes.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at EPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top